Religion and Politics…

My children know me well enough to keep me away from anyone discussing either of the socially “taboo” subjects.  Of course, I got them in the long run, because I ALWAYS encouraged them to follow their own beliefs and be their own person.  They all are, and I wouldn’t change any of them.

I am a hopeless romantic, and I embrace the concept of the succession of souls.  I’m a real sucker for stories and movies that propose concepts of star-crossed lovers who just look at one another and feel a cosmic connection that transcends time.

It’s no secret that I’m not a fan of organized religions.  From the nut job that predicted the Rapture we just lived through recently to the powerful Catholic church covering the sins of it’s priests, I’ve been dismissing religious “structures” as far back as I can remember.

My best friend growing up became a Baptist minister.  As much as I loved the guy, I could never understand why his choice of religion was the best one, and in the eyes of any Baptist, the only one.  What makes one better than the next?

While I consider myself a man of science, I realize that whatever it is we occupy, it just didn’t start… something or someone had to create it.  I believe it’s beyond my comprehension as a human being and leave it at that.  I’m not all that concerned about “seeking the truth” and have even less desire to spend time on any cyclical basis listening to other human beings droning on about what they believe in.  I am not looking forward to death, but I accept it as a part of life, namely the end and nothing more.

Religion would have you believe that after life there is some kind of judgement,  but I’ve never embraced the concept of heaven and hell.  Science would have you believe in the space-time continuum where space and time are the same entity.  There are people who dismiss one or the other, and also some that are devoted to one or the other.  I think if you devote your life to either, you’re missing out on the day to day mysteries that make our lives so unique.  I believe we are all meant to experience highs and lows, struggle and survive, and cope with love and loss.  We as individuals don’t need a final judgment… if you near the end of your life and recognize your mistakes and savor the balance, you’ve probably led a pretty good life and the satisfaction of knowing is your reward.

Now about politics… don’t get me started!

1 Comment

Filed under Chuckisms

One response to “Religion and Politics…

  1. Josh

    OK, now I REALLY feel like my father’s son, cause I couldn’t have said it better myself.

    Our existence is basically a mystery, and the only way to really deal with it is to accept the fact that we simply don’t know and never will know the “answers.”

    And all those preachers and prophets and organized religions that try to convince you that THEY know the truth are completely full of….well….this is a family blog so I’ll stop there.

    But to dismiss the fact that we do exist as anything less than a glorious divine riddle is also short-sighted. It’s a cosmic mystery and the best we can do is just enjoy the ride!

Leave a Reply

